Five Indian Students Win Gold At International Physics Olympiad

International Physics Olympiad

Indians are doing well in various fields including education and once again it is proved after the announcement of gold medalists of International Physics Olympiad (IPhO). It is first time in the history that five Indian students have grabbed gold medals at the International Physics Olympiad, which is an annual competition for secondary school students and first took place in 1967 in Warsaw, Poland.

The primary focus of IPhO is to promote physics as well as international contacts development in physics education. Each year at least four hundred competitors from 85 countries compete at the event.

India’s Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education selected the five boys following rigorous selection process and they are Lay Jain and Pawan Goyal from Kota, Bhaskar Gupta from Mumbai, Nishant Abhangi from Rajkot and Siddharth Tiwary from Kolkata.

Homi Bhabha Centre is the national centre of Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR)

This year the event was held in Lisbon, Portugal and 396 school kids participated. A total of 42 gold medals were distributed to those 8 percent top students who scored the highest.

There are two broad categories of the competition and those are a theoretical and an experimental examination. Each of the categories has duration of five hours and this time the theoretical examination had questions based on LIGO detection of gravitational waves, the ATLAS instrument at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) and the physics of blood flow in living tissues and growth of tumours.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.